Monday, April 15, 2024
21.4 C

ICOT 2024 announces an array of new speakers ahead of July conference.

Eco Voice
Eco Voice
First published in 2003, Eco Voice is your go-to publication for sustainability news in Australia. Eco Voice prides itself as an independent news platform with a clear focus on sustainability, with articles coming from a diverse range of contributors – all levels of government, corporations, not-for-profits, community groups, small to medium sized businesses, universities, research organisations, together with input from international sources. Eco Voice values community, conservation and commerce. Eco Voice is a media partner of the prestigious Australian Banksia Sustainability Awards – The Peak Sustainability Awards.

New Speakers including, Rosalind Croucher AM (Human Right Commission) Aixa Pérez-Prado (USA) Eli Court (Soils for Life), John Worsfold (Former AFL player & coach) Simon Longstaff (Ethics Centre), Alexandra Saundry (More than Management) confirmed to attend the 20th International Conference on Thinking in Melbourne – July 7 to 11, 2024

The International Conference on Thinking (ICOT) is to once again be held in Melbourne for its 20th conference, and will feature an impressive array of keynote speakers across nine strands, with an array of new speakers confirmed to join the already extensive list of local and internationals, across nine strands, including:

Rosalind Croucher – Australian lawyer and academic who is the current President of the Australian Human Rights Commission, in office since July 2017.

Aixa Perez-Prado – Writer, illustrator, translator and faculty member at Florida International University.

Eli Court – Chief Executive Office of Soils for Life, and Board Director of Open Food Network

John Worsfold – Former Australian rules football coach and player. He was the senior coach of the Essendon Football Club in the Australian Football League between October 2015 and September 2020 and captained West Coast Eagles to premierships in 1992, 1994 and 2006.

Simon Longstaff – Executive Director of The Ethics Centre, co-founder of the Festival of Dangerous Ideas, and has been named one of the True Leaders of the 21st century by AFR BOSS magazine.

Alexandra Saundry – Former AFLW player and now owner of sports management company More Than Management, with a commitment to building recognition for women’s sport and empowering sportswomen to build successful careers on and off the field.

With the 2024 theme of: ‘We are on the edge of what?’ The conference promises thought-provoking innovation, creative and critical thinking and transformative ideas in the context of the greater good as we look to the future.

The interdisciplinary nature of ICOT 2024 provides opportunities to venture further from what participants have traditionally leaned towards and encourages them to do so. The conference targets nine key disciplinary strands that include; Human Rights, Business, Education, The Body, Technology, Globalisation, Arts, Environment and Sports.

The new speakers will join International presenters at the conference including Phillip D. Jaffe (CH), Tina Grotzer (USA), Vishal Talreja (IND), Bill Martin (USA), David Perkins (USA), Patrick Newell (JPN), Ron Ritchhart (USA), Jonathan Levy (FRA), Teina Moetara (NZ), Yong Zhao (USA).

An esteemed contingent of local academics, educators, artists and business leaders are confirmed to present at ICOT 2024 including Rita Reichman (Steinway Artist), Kieran Nolan (, Lina Le (Shrunk) John Edwards (Author, ICOT steering member), Associate Professor Tilman Ruff AO, Suzie Betts (Boob Armour), Ryan Trainor (, Andy Dinan (MARS Gallery), Simon Goodrich (Portable) and Anders Sorman-Nilsson (Thinque).  

You can find out about these speakers and more here

The motivation for the conference is to understand and enhance thinking, learning and creativity across disciplines at the individual and organisational level and to develop people and organisations through improved thinking and learning strategies.

This internationally renowned cross-disciplinary event is set to celebrate its 40th year, in Australia’s cultural capital, which will introduce shared experiences and thinking strategies that can be utilised to develop and co-create a positive future. This is the second time Melbourne will be home to the conference, playing host in 2005 to the 12th International Conference on Thinking.

ICOT gathers a wide range of participants including practitioners, researchers, academics, innovators and students from many international backgrounds, successes and experiences.

Further presenters will be announced as the conference approaches.

The 20th International Conference on Thinking will be held at the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre on July 7-11 2024.

Conference Details
Please Visit:

Registrations can be completed here:

About the International Conference on Thinking 

ICOT is a highly regarded event with a rich history spanning almost 40 years of gatherings in cities around the world, attracting people from near and far and fostering deep, creative and critical thinking.

The in-person conference experience will enable participants to explore what ICOT 2024 offers including engaging with people with different experiences and stories as well as experiencing thinking that can empower.

Now more than ever we are aware of the consequences of ours and others’ actions and the impact of today on the future. ICOT brings together thinkers and doers from a variety of disciplines, to think creatively, critically, collaboratively and take actions towards common goals.

Inspirational people who have positively presented at ICOT events include:

Edward de Bono, Richard Dawkins, Mark Rose, Margaret Boden, Reuven Feuerstein, Peter Doherty, Jan Van Mol, Veronica Boix Mansilla, Richard Saul Wurman, Hans Rosling, Guy Claxton, Robyn Williams, John Edwards, Tony Buzan, Howard Gardner, Art Costa, Paul Davies, Fiona Wood, Susan Greenfield, Shari Tishman, Carla Rinaldi, Valerie Walkerdine, Joy Murphy Wandin, Mary Helen Immordino-Yang, Kirsty Sword Gusmao, Ewan McIntosh, Frederick Mendelsohn, Mary Featherston, Donald Horne, Sir Edmund Hillary, Jan Millikan, Bruno Della Chiesa, Robert Sternberg, Futa Helu, Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi, Ana Perez Saitua, Paul MacCready, Peter Senge, David Perkins, Rita Reichman, Mahathir bin Mohamad, Molly Harriss Olson, Kevin Warwick, Stephen J Gould, Carol McGuiness, Jeffrey Rosenfeld, Ron Ritchhart, Robert Swartz, Javier Bahon, Lane Clark, Joseph Renzulli, Paul Davies, Sunetra Gupta, Bengt Lennartson.


Plants, seeds & more delivered to your door!


- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -