upsidedownhead reveals new single ‘my cave (feat. dave jenkins jr.)’ + announces forthcoming debut ep complex

0b84b847 2200 4f35 9fb2 2d236fdc9421
0b84b847 2200 4f35 9fb2 2d236fdc9421

‘my cave’ is the new single from mysterious Sydney-based producer upsidedownhead. It’s the second track to surface from his forthcoming EP complex – out November 23 through Liberation Records.

Featuring the vocals of Dave Jenkins Jr. ‘my cave’ is “a tale of anxiety and endless self-talk” upsidedownhead says.  A collection of bent synths and pulsing, erratic rhythms mirror the track’s theme, which is also cleverly portrayed through its accompanying lyric video.

VIDEO: ‘my cave (ft. Dave Jenkins Jr.)’ by upsidedownhead

“my cave is a commentary on musicians who lock themselves up in caves for hours/days/weeks to craft art that hopefully brings joys to people but in doing so, potentially pushes oneself into isolation.”

The debut EP complex will feature 7 dark and brooding tracks that masterfully balance a sense of calm amongst chaos. Years in the making, it was recorded and mixed by upsidedownhead in Sydney, Melbourne, LA and Chicago, and is available to pre-ordernow.

‘my cave’ follows on from the debut single ‘get low (feat. Ric Rufio)’, which is currently on rotation at FBi Radio and receiving spins on BBC Radio 1 and Amazing Radio. It’s appeared on Spotify’s New Music Friday, Top-Shelf Electronic playlists and Apple Music’s Best of the Week. Premiered via CLASH, the track has since captured the attention of The Line Of Best Fit, Purple Sneakers and I OH YOU FRESH JUICE.

On complex, upsidedownhead steps out of the shadows and into some place even darker. While we eagerly await its release, explore ‘my cave (feat. Dave Jenkins Jr.)’.

‘Crookedly hypnotic electronica that demands your immediate attention’
– The Line Of Best Fit‘Undulating electronics that recall James Holden or AFX’ – CLASH

“Captivating as it is catchy” – Purple Sneakers

“This track hits hard” – I OH YOU FRESH JUICE

complex EP
Out 23 November through Liberation Records
Vinyl and digital pre-order available here

complex EP tracklisting:
1.  get low [feat. Ric Rufio]
2. midnight
3. my cave [feat. Dave Jenkin Jr.]
4. not broken
5. future loser [feat. E^ST]
6. the moment
7. weekend drive/couple retreat
[feat. Stephanie Wilson]

  • Oceania Luxury Travel Co Luxury Travel Australia Banner 728x90 1